Mirrors Don’t Lie

Please stop lying to me
I know I’m not skinny
Neither am I thin
Or stunning from head to feet
Please stop suffocating me
With your whimsical weather
One moment I’m fat
The other I’m twenty kilos thinner
Thank you for knocking me out
Of my clouded naivety
It’s taken me so long to realise this
So why are you now stopping me?!
Don’t you want me to be thin and lovely?
You just want me to breathe
In regrets choking my facade?
With no one but fats to be on my side
When death creeps up to my saturnine eyes
Because mirrors don’t lie
Your words are cheap
With your actions they speak
They so mislead
They tell a story so disgraceful
Sometimes I wish it was just a dream
But no one can deny the truth in this
Especially when mirrors dont lie to it
The biggest you can ever find
Staring back at its gruesome sight
Cringing with silent hopes to be different
I run away
I’m terrified
They make up most of what you lie

12 thoughts on “Mirrors Don’t Lie

  1. Mirrors may not lie but your eyes can deceit you, telling you what you see isn’t perfection because of society’s approval on what’s “in and out”. In reality we are all beautiful, we all have the traits that make others smile, and often we cast down what makes us beautiful in others eyes.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for such a wonderful explanation and I hope I’m how you make me sound to be… But really, thanks! Society has screwed my mind and right now I can’t really draw the line between wrong and right :/

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been thin my whole life. Many would say too thin. At 49 I’m still happy when I look in the mirror. I don’t need to fit others version of perfect. We are all different and that is a good thing.What is inside is more important than what is outside.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. mirrors don’t lie
    but often those who hold the sight don’t see the truth either
    the only time you can trust the reflection is when you don’t know its you
    because the word reflection has at least two meanings
    it is light bouncing from a reflective surface
    and it is chewing on memories
    that last one gets to you

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I really really REALLY miss you. You should know that. As for this post, girl I’m confused as hell too. Take in the kind words of those closest to you because our own hearts lie to us, repeatedly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

